General Information

Our Mission
Kids’ Place works in cooperation with the families, schools, and the community of St. Louis Park to provide a high quality, professional child care program that is academically enriching, fun and safe for all children.

Our goal is to provide a safe, caring environment which allows your child the opportunity to learn and grow among friends. Whether your family has a preschooler, or school-age child, we understand your need to know that your child is well cared for during the day.

Best Practices
Kids’ Place is a part of the Community Education department of St. Louis Park Public Schools. Like all other district programs, we are governed by the policies, expectations and guidelines of our school board. In addition, the Kids’ Place early learning classrooms are currently working toward accreditation through NAEYC, National Association for the Education of Young Children.  Our school age classes provide choices for creative, social, and physical growth through a wide-range of enjoyable and meaningful activities and experiences.

Eligibility
All children ages 33 months through grade 5 are welcome to attend Kids’ Place.  You do not need to be a resident of St. Louis Park to participate.

Our Staff

  • Educated professionals
  • First aid and CPR certified
  • Career-minded, long-term teaching team
  • Continually learning and improving methods
  • Experienced caregivers who understand what children need
  • St. Louis Park school district employees
  • Building strong relationships with children and parents

Age Groups and Locations
Central Community Center – Main Office
6300 Walker Street
St. Louis Park, MN 55416

Lenox Community Center
6715 Minnetonka Boulevard
St. Louis Park, MN 55426

Preschool – 33 months to age 5 or start of kindergarten
Central and Lenox Community Centers

YBK – Year Before Kindergarten Program (child must be 4 by September 1 to attend)
Central Community Center

Grades K-5
Students attend Kids’ Place at child’s school of attendance: Peter Hobart, Central/PSI, Aquila, or Susan Lindgren.

Summer Grades K-5
Central Community Center

Hours of Operation
Kids’ Place is open from 6:30 a.m. until 6:00 p.m. Monday through Friday year-round

August 2016
The Summer Session for K-5 students will end on Friday, August 19, 2016, Kids’ Place is closed to K-5 students during the week of August 22 -26, 2016 to set up school year programming

Kids’ Place Preschool and YBK classes will be  closed the week of August 22 -26, 2016 for staff training and school year preparation.

Kids’ Place Non-Service Days for 2016/2017
We will be closed on the following days:
Restructure Days
The first day of the 2016-2017 school year is Monday, August 29, 2016. Kids Place will close for some days at the end of the summer in order to prepare for the new school year. During this time, our staff will attend required training workshops, building custodians will wax floors and provide other annual maintenance in our classrooms, and our K-5 staff packs up and moves back to the elementary schools. Similar days are needed at the end of the school year before summer begins. There is no tuition charged for these restructure days.
Grades K-5:
August 22-26, 2016
June 5-9, 2017
August 28-September 1, 2017
Preschool/YBK:
August 22-26, 2016
June 5-9, 2017
August 28-September 1, 2017
District Holidays
St. Louis Park Public Schools, which includes all Kids’ Place classrooms, is closed on the following district holidays:
• Monday, September 5, 2016
• Thursday, November 24, 2016
• Friday, November 25, 2016
• Friday, December 23, 2016
• Monday, December 26, 2016
• Friday, December 30, 2016
• Monday, January 2, 2017
• Monday, January 16, 2017
• Monday, February 20, 2017
• Monday, March 27, 2017
• Monday, May 29, 2017
• Tuesday, July 4, 2017
• Monday, September 4, 2017
(Note for preschool/YBK families: These district holidays fall within the regular enrollment period for 2016-2017. All preschool accounts are invoiced for district holidays as part of the Kids Place preschool enrollment contract.)

Full Day Kids Place for Grades K-5
No school on the following days, but Kids Place is open for full-day fun!
Cost is $45.00 per day. Open from 6:30 a.m. until 6:00 p.m.

Please enroll online at least 14 days in advance. Late registrations are added as space allows and are not guaranteed.

School Release Days 2016/2017

  • Thursday, October 20, 2016
  • Friday, October 21, 2016
  • Friday, November 4, 2016
  • Wednesday, November 23, 2016
  • Friday, December 2, 2016
  • Wednesday, December 21, 2016
  • Thursday, December 22, 2016
  • Tuesday, December 27, 2016
  • Wednesday, December 28, 2016
  • Thursday, December 29, 2016
  • Friday, January 20, 2017
  • Friday, February 17, 2017
  • Friday, March 17, 2017
  • Friday, March 24, 2017
  • Tuesday, March 28, 2017
  • Wednesday, March 29, 2017
  • Thursday, March 30, 2017
  • Friday, March 31, 2017

Early Release Days for K-5
School gets out two hours early. Kids Place opens early in the afternoon for extended-day fun. Cost is an additional $14.00 to attend each of these days.
• Wednesday, October 19, 2016
• Friday, May 19, 2017

Summer!
Kids Place is open for K-5 students from 6:30 a.m. until 6:00 p.m.

Fee Assistance
Fee assistance, for those who qualify, is available through Hennepin County. Call 612.348.5937 or email: HSPH.Childcare@co.hennepin.mn.us for more information.

St. Louis Park Community Education
a department of St. Louis Park Public Schools
6425 West 33rd Street
St. Louis Park MN 55426
952.928.6061

built and maintained by: kincaid-burrows