General Information

Our Mission
Kids Place works in cooperation with the families, schools, and the community of St. Louis Park to provide a high quality, professional child care program that is academically enriching, fun and safe for all children.

Our goal is to provide a safe, caring environment which allows your child the opportunity to learn and grow among friends. Whether your family has a preschooler, or school-age child, we understand your need to know that your child is well cared for during the day.

Best Practices
Kids Place is a part of the Community Education department of St. Louis Park Public Schools. Like all other district programs, we are governed by the policies, expectations and guidelines of our school board. In addition, the Kids Place early learning classrooms are currently working toward accreditation through NAEYC, National Association for the Education of Young Children.  Our school age classes provide choices for creative, social, and physical growth through a wide-range of enjoyable and meaningful activities and experiences.

Eligibility
All children ages 33 months through grade 5 are welcome to attend Kids’ Place.  You do not need to be a resident of St. Louis Park to participate.

Our Staff

  • Educated professionals
  • First aid and CPR certified
  • Career-minded, long-term teaching team
  • Continually learning and improving methods
  • Experienced caregivers who understand what children need
  • St. Louis Park school district employees
  • Building strong relationships with children and parents

Age Groups and Locations
Central Community Center – Main Office
6300 Walker Street
St. Louis Park, MN 55416

Lenox Community Center (until August 21, 2020)
6715 Minnetonka Boulevard
St. Louis Park, MN 55426

Preschool – 33 months to age 5 or start of kindergarten
Central Community Center                                                                                                                                                              Lenox Community Center (until August 21, 2020)

YBK – Year Before Kindergarten Program (child must be 4 by September 1 to attend)
Central Community Center

Grades K-5
Students attend Kids Place at child’s school of attendance: Peter Hobart, PSI, Aquila, or Susan Lindgren.

Hours of Operation
Kids Place is open from 6:30 a.m. until 6:00 p.m. Monday through Friday year-round

Kids Place School Age Care will be CLOSED June 5 – June 12, 2020.  During which time the staff completes required training and moves  the program into the summer location.

                                                                      The Preschool Program will be OPEN during this time. 

Summer Grades K-5
Aquila Primary School (Summer 2020)

Kids Place is open for students that have completed grades K-5 from 6:30 a.m. until 6:00 p.m.  The Summer 2020 program runs June 15 – August 21, 2020.

The Kids Place School Age Care Program and the Preschool Child Care Program will be CLOSED August 24 through September 4, 2020, two weeks, for required staff training and moving in to the program spaces for the Fall.  Families are not billed for these days.

District Holidays

St. Louis Park Public Schools, which includes all Kids Place classrooms, is closed on the following district holidays:

  • Monday, September 2, 2019
  • Thursday, November 28, 2019
  • Friday, November 29, 2019
  • Tuesday, December 24, 2019
  • Wednesday, December 25, 2019
  • Tuesday, December 31, 2019
  • Wednesday, January 1, 2020
  • Monday, January 20, 2020
  • Monday, February 17, 2020
  • Friday, April 3, 2020
  • Monday, May 25, 2020
  • Friday, July 3, 2020
  • Monday, September 7, 2020
  • Note for preschool/YBK families: These district holidays fall within the regular enrollment period for 2019- 2020. All preschool accounts are invoiced for district holidays as part of the Kids Place preschool enrollment contract.School Release Days for grades K-5

    No school today, but Kids Place is open for full-day fun from 6:30 a.m to 6:00 p.m. Cost is $48.00 per day up to the registration deadline which is two weeks prior to the release day date and the first day of Winter and Spring break – $58 after deadline and requires Supervisor’s approval and is not guaranteed.

    • Friday, October 4, 2019  (Registration deadline: September 20, 2019)
    • Thursday, October 17, 2019 (Registration deadline:  October 3, 2019)
    • Friday, October 18, 2019 (Registration deadline:  October 4, 2019)
    • Friday, November 1, 2019 (Registration deadline:  October 18, 2019)
    • Wednesday, November 27, 2019 (Registration deadline:  November 13, 2019)
    • Friday, December 6, 2019 (Registration deadline:  November 22, 2019)
    • Monday, December 23, 2019 (Registration deadline:  December 9, 2019)
    • Thursday, December 26, 2019 (Registration deadline:  December 9, 2019)
    • Friday, December 27, 2019 (Registration deadline:  December 9, 2019)
    • Monday, December 30, 2019 (Registration deadline:  December 9, 2019)
    • Friday, January 24, 2020 (Registration deadline:  January 10, 2020)
    • Friday, February 14, 2020 (Registration deadline:  January 31, 2020)
    • Friday, March 6, 2020 (Registration deadline:  February 28, 2020)
    • Friday, March 27, 2020 (Registration deadline:  March 13, 2020)
    • Monday, March 30, 2020 (Registration deadline:  March 16, 2020)
    • Tuesday, March 31, 2020 (Registration deadline:  March 16, 2020)
    • Wednesday, April 1, 2020 (Registration deadline:  March 16, 2020)
    • Thursday, April 2, 2020 (Registration deadline:  March 16, 2020)

Fee Assistance
Fee assistance, for those who qualify, is available through Hennepin County. Call 612.348.5937 or email: HSPH.Childcare@co.hennepin.mn.us for more information.

St. Louis Park Community Education
a department of St. Louis Park Public Schools
6311 Wayzata Boulevard
St. Louis Park, MN 55416
952.928.6061

built and maintained by: kincaid-burrows
Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On TwitterVisit Us On YoutubeVisit Us On Instagram