About Us

Our Mission

Kids Place works in cooperation with the families, schools, and the community of St. Louis Park to provide a high quality, professional child care program that is academically enriching, fun and safe for all children.

Our goal is to provide a safe, caring environment which allows your child the opportunity to learn and grow among friends. Whether your family has a preschooler, or school-age child, we understand your need to know that your child is well cared for during the day.

Best Practices

Kids Place is a part of the Community Education department of St. Louis Park Public Schools. Like all other district programs, we are governed by the policies, expectations and guidelines of our school board. In addition, the Kids Place early learning classrooms are currently working toward accreditation through NAEYC, National Association for the Education of Young Children.  Our school age classes provide choices for creative, social, and physical growth through a wide-range of enjoyable and meaningful activities and experiences.

Eligibility

All children ages 33 months through grade 5 are welcome to attend Kids’ Place.  You do not need to be a resident of St. Louis Park to participate.

Our Staff

  • Educated professionals
  • First aid and CPR certified
  • Career-minded, long-term teaching team
  • Continually learning and improving methods
  • Experienced caregivers who understand what children need
  • St. Louis Park school district employees
  • Building strong relationships with children and parents

Age Groups and Location

  Main Office-

Central Community Center
6300 Walker Street
St. Louis Park, MN 55416

Preschool – 33 months to age 5 or start of kindergarten

Central Community Center

YBK – Year Before Kindergarten Program

(child must be 4 by September 1 to attend)
Central Community Center

Grades K-5

Students attend Kids Place at child’s school of attendance: Peter Hobart, PSI, Aquila, or Susan Lindgren. (Care only for Tier 1 Critical Workers at this time)

Hours of Operation

Kids Place is open from 6:30 a.m. until 6:00 p.m.
Monday through Friday year-round

Restructure Days

Kids Place will close for some days during the year. During this time, our staff attends required training workshops, building custodians deep clean and provide needed maintenance in our classrooms. At the end of the summer our K-5 staff packs up and moves back to the elementary schools.  Similar days are needed at the end of the school year before summer begins.
Tuition is not charged on these restructure days.
 

Preschool/YBK & Grades K-5

  • August 24-September 4, 2020
  • November 2 & 3, 2020
  • June 14 – 18, 2021
  • August 30, September 3, 2021

District Holidays

St. Louis Park Public Schools, which includes all Kids Place classrooms, is closed on the following district holidays:

  • Thursday, November 26, 2020
  • Friday, November 27, 2020
  • Thursday, December 24, 2020
  • Friday, December 25, 2020
  • Thursday, December 31, 2020
  • Friday, January 1, 2021
  • Monday, January 18, 2021
  • Monday, February 15, 2021
  • Friday, April 2, 2021
  • Monday, May 31, 2021
  • Monday, July 5, 2021
  • Monday, September 6, 2021

Note for preschool/YBK families: These district holidays fall within the regular enrollment period for 2020-21. All preschool accounts are invoiced for district holidays as part of the Kids Place preschool enrollment contract.

School Release Days for grades K-5

No school today, but Kids Place is open for full-day fun from 6:30 a.m to 6:00 p.m. Cost is $49.00 per day up to the registration deadline which is two weeks prior to the release day date and the first day of Winter and Spring break – $59 after deadline and requires Supervisor’s approval and is not guaranteed. (Care only for Tier 1 Critical Workers at this time)

  • Friday, October 2, 2020
  • Thursday, October 15, 2020
  • Friday, October 16, 2020
  • Wednesday, November 25, 2020
  • Wednesday, December 23, 2020
  • Monday, December 28, 2020
  • Tuesday, December 29, 2020
  • Friday, January 29, 2021
  • Friday, February 19, 2021
  • Friday, March 5, 2021
  • Friday, March 29, 2021
  • Tuesday, March 30, 2021
  • Wednesday, March 31, 2021
  • Thursday, April 1, 2021

Fee Assistance

Fee assistance, for those who qualify, is available through Hennepin County. Call 612.348.5937 or email: HSPH.Childcare@co.hennepin.mn.us for more information.